lasasflow.blogg.se

Regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade
Regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade





regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade
  1. Regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade upgrade#
  2. Regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade pro#

Maybe I’ll do a write-up on that process sometime. I used a SATA-to-USB adapter cable and a flash drive with Clonezilla on it to do the clone. I actually used only 840 GB combined, so I was hoping to buy a 1.0 TB SSD for 600.

regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade

I had previously cloned my hard drive to the SSD. I had 1.5 TB in old Book-a 1.0 TB drive for OSX and a 512 GB for Win7. I fire it up, and windows is decidedly much faster to boot up now :). I connect the SATA ribbon, use four screws to secure the drive in its caddy, three to put the battery back in, and finally back to the torx screwdriver to put the back plate back on. Now I can put the SSD in the caddy and work backwards, attaching it with four screws.Ĭompleting the steps in reverse order puts it back together again. With the battery out of the way, I can lift up the hard drive.Īfter carefully disconnecting it from the SATA ribbon, it will take removing four more Phillips screws to separate the drive from its caddy. Four small philips screws hold it in.Īt this point I realized I had to remove the battery in order to get enough play in the SATA ribbon to disconnect the hard drive. With the tiny screwdriver I was able to remove the 10 screws holding the back plate on. I had to buy a new set of precision screwdrivers to get a small enough screwdriver. The biggest issue was it required a #4 torx screwdriver to get the back plate off.

Regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade upgrade#

It’s a nice laptop, aluminum body, i7 processor, 8GB RAM (also on the upgrade list), 1TB HDD (which is what I swapped out today). I know that its one of the new style SSD drives but I think there are two kinds. I know that the SDD isn't supported as being upgraded but its only 256Gb and I really need to upgrade it.

Regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade pro#

I’ve had this laptop for several years, and it’s started getting sluggish, so I thought I’d upgrade it to an SSD to speed it up. I've got a MacBook Pro Retina 13' Late 2015.







Regular macbook 2015 ssd upgrade